Iconic American Wines

This week, The Washington Post’s
Food section is looking at the iconic American meal – Thanksgiving –
from the perspective of iconic American chefs. So I thought it would be
fun to discuss iconic American wines. This proved to be more difficult
than I expected, for any such list is necessarily subjective and
eminently debatable. So I invite you to read what I came up with and suggest your own here in the comments.

Chardonnay
from Bien Nacido? Napa Valley Cabernet? I’ve tried to capture “iconic”
wines that have made American wine what it is today, and wines that are
shaping its future. Please let me know what you think.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in California, Eastern US, Food and Drink, Local Wine, New York, Oregon, Washington Post, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iconic American Wines

  1. Brian says:

    Dave,
    I was under the impression from somewhere along the line that Oregon
    pinot noir was the best that state had to offer (white or red) and was
    at least the equivalent of California.
    Is that no longer the case? Or am I just mistaken (or possibly biased,
    since my wife is from there)?
    -Brian

  2. Nothing has happened to diminish Oregon Pinot Noir that Im aware of. As I
    said in the column, this is a very personal list, and I hoped readers
    would post their own comments and suggestions here or on the Washington
    Post  Web site – so Im glad you took the time to do so. Indeed I
    mentioned Oregon as a rival for California in Pinot, but decided
    ultimately to go with Carneros and Saintsbury because of their influence
    over the years. With Oregon, I wanted to emphasize Pinot Gris because
    of the current market craze for Pinot Grigio, and the proliferation of
    Pinot Grigio from US wineries. Oregon was first in this country with
    Pinot Gris, as David Lett at Eyrie Vineyards was the first vintner to
    plant the variety in the US. (Unfortunately Eyrie is not distributed
    anywhere I can get it.) Oregon has developed a distinctive style with
    this grape that falls somewhere between Alsace and Italy and is uniquely
    Oregons. Ponzi is a terrific example, so I featured it. There are other
    contenders, too!

Join the Discussion!

